Braking a 5A DC motor with VNH5019 shield

Is there a way to set forward braking different than reverse braking?

I am just learning to use my new Dual VNH5019 motor driver shield. So far, it seems to work great for driving a 2.5" 12VDC motor that powered a car window, in both directions.
However, in one direction, there appears to be hard braking, while in the other, it coasts to a stop. Judging from the LEDs on the controller, this is something going on with the controller, not a quirk of the motor (which is driving nothing a the moment). Forward LED fades out when I send a setM1Speed = 0 command after it was going at +400, and snuffs out quickly when I send the same command after it was going at -400.

I see there is a setM1Brake command, but I don’t see any way to set forward braking different than reverse braking. And when I used this command to specify “full braking” (400), I still got coasting when stopping from the forward direction, and hard brake when stopping from reverse. I am probably doing something wrong, or forgetting to do something, so feel free to educate me! The User’s Guide and the Library Reference don’t have much to say about braking.

Thanks,
Steve

Hello, Steve.

If you are getting behavior from the VNH5019 where the motor brakes hard if it’s moving in one direction but coasts to a stop if it’s moving in the other direction, it means that one of the high-side MOSFETs for the H-bridge is on but the other three MOSFETs are off. This can happen if the PWM line is low and exactly one of INA/INB is high while the other is low.

I looked at the current version of our Dual-VNH5019-Motor-Shield library and unfortunately we are setting PWM=low, INA=high, INB=low when you call setM1Speed(0), so you would get that asymmetric braking behavior. I intend to fix that soon.

However, the setM1Brake() function behaves symmetrically and I would expect setM1Brake(400) to result in hard braking no matter which direction the motor is currently moving.