Best motor controllers/ drivers for non-microcontroller robots?

Hi all,

I want to build simple, BEAM-ish, robots that react to stimuli by fleeing or getting closer to the stimuli, based on simple, non-programmed logic. I think I want to use the new Romi chassis and a motor driver/ controller to hide that complexity from me, but build my own sensor and reaction circuits because that is what interests me most.

Can anyone suggest either a motor driver or controller, and maybe an introductory tutorial? I assume it will be voltage controlled, using PWM to actuate the motors, etc. The sensor / reaction logic might be just a photoresistor and amplifier, for example.

I am just beginning my robotics/ electronics journey, so feel free to dumb down your answers accordingly…

References:

Thanks!

Hello.

The DRV8835 Dual Motor Driver Carrier is probably most appropriate for those motors. Will that work for you?

-Nathan

I actually though the 18v7 – https://www.pololu.com/product/1373

Any reason why not? I like the voltage control and not having to do any of my own PWM building etc.

Will it fit on the Romi Chassis with some room left over for sensors and my own breadboard?

The Simple Motor Controller 18v7 does have an analog input, which might be simpler to work with. If you want to control the motors independently, you would need two of them. The Romi chassis is pretty roomy, so you can probably find space there, though you might have to stack the motor controllers using something like our spacers and standoffs. We have dxf drawings for the Simple Motor Controller and Romi chassis on the “Resources” tab of their product pages that can be used to get the locations of features and overall dimensions for the items.

-Nathan

Here is what I am thinking: I stack the two 18v7s on top of each other with standoffs, put a 3" by 2" (ish) solderless breadboard somewhere, and attach a few small sensor antennae (a mic and a few bump wires to start).