Arduino and 2s12v10

A friend just gave me his used Arduino Mega 2560 and 2s12v10. I am fairly new to electronics but I feel I understand the basics. I am trying to control a DC motor with these two set-up.

I first started with a sketch, that as far as I could tell tested if the 2560 and 2s12v10 were communicating. By using the Serial Monitor, it successfully returned my input in bits.

int incomingByte = 0;   // for incoming serial data

void setup() {
        Serial.begin(9600);     // opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
}

void loop() {

// send data only when you receive data:
        if (Serial.available() > 0) {
                // read the incoming byte:
                incomingByte = Serial.read();

// say what you got:
                Serial.print("I received: ");
                Serial.println(incomingByte, DEC);
        }
}

However, when trying to actually control the motor; I have been unsuccessful. I have tried following the advice in similar threads but cannot get the motor to work. I have been using the following code, which I altered to meet the newest version of Arduino (downloaded today):

void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.write(0xAA);
  Serial.write(0x8E);
  Serial.write(63);
}
void loop()
{
}

The status light never changes the rate at which it blinks; roughly once per second. From what I gather this means that it is not receiving the baud rate? The Ardiuno’s ‘TX’ and ‘RX’ lights blink when the sketch is uploaded. The 2s12v10 and motor are running on 6 V (power supply) and I have run the motor separably at the same voltage and worked perfectly.

I have a feeling that I am making a simple mistake, as I have not even had this set-up a day. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hello.

Can you tell me how you have everything connected? Also, to simplify things, can you disconnect your motor from the qik and just use its indicator LEDs as feedback for now?

- Ben

Sure, I have disconnected the motor from the qik.