A4988 stepper driver and 8 wire stepper

Here is a pic of the diagram I got with this stepper motor.

I tried hooking it up and am really pretty much lost on what I am doing wrong. I am new to all this so please excuse my ignorance heh.

I want to hook this up either in series or parallel. From what I have read parallel will give me more power and speed but will generate more heat. I am using a power supply from a computer to power this so I can use 3.3, 5 or 12V. I actually have it so I can get 24V by using 2 of the power supplies that I have hooked together.

However I also read in the FAQ about the stepper driver that I should wire it in series. Either will be fine for me I think. What is confusing me is on my stepper driver there is 1B 1A 2A and 2B and I am not sure where I should be hooking it up.

I was hoping someone could give me some advice or what to hook to what to make this work.

Thanks,
Dave

Hello.

The FAQ contains a labeled stepper motor diagram like the one in your datasheet and tells you what wires to connect to which pins of the stepper motor driver (it makes specific mention of driver pins 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B). Note that in the FAQ, the paired coils are AC and BD while in your diagram, the paired coils appear to be AB and CD, so if you mentally swap B and C while reading the FAQ, you should be set. I’m happy to confirm your connections are correct if you want to run them by me before actually making them.

- Ben

If you have not already done this, you should be very careful and make sure you know what you are doing before trying to connect two power supplies in series. If the grounds on the power supply outputs are connected to the AC mains ground, you could create a short if you try to “stack” the voltages by connecting ground on one supply to the 12 V line on the other.

- Kevin

I have tried that a few times with a new pololu driver since I burnt up my 1st one and I am getting nothing now. Here is my setup.

Thanks,
Dave