A4983 problems

Hi,

I am trying to build a stepper controller and driver unit using the A4983 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier with Voltage Regulators, but there are several things I’m not sure about and cannot find any information on. sorry - I have some electronics knowledge but this is all a bit new.

First, is there a clear picture anywhere of this unit wired up? I had the same problem as other posters of the motor moving by itself, then grounded the step pin through a 100K and it stopped moving, but it still makes a humming sound - is that normal? I have checked the amp limit to 0.9A using the method shown on the web page (the motor is a nanotec ST5709S1208 and is rated to >1A).

To try to fix this ‘hum’ I have either pulled up or down, according to the A4983 data sheet, the dir, reset, sleep and enable inputs, but I still get the humming sound when power is conncected. I have not built my controller yet - it will be a crystal controlled 4060 output, so I can’t test it with step pulses yet.

Also I’m not clear as to how the MS1-3 pins should be made high or low - can they be wired directly together and to VDD? The A4983 shows 100k resistors hsould be used, but the Pololu units says it has 100k resistors already?

So, is the ‘hum’ normal and do I need to pull up or down all the inputs or can any be left open? Does anyone have a picture of exactly how the inputs should be set?

Thanks for any help - I’m a bit worried about fusing something…

Theo

just wanted to clarify - I need the motors to run then power off - they do not need to hold because they will be on the worm drives of a telescope.

Hello.

Are you using the A4983 carrier with voltage regulators(1202), or without(1201)? Either way, the product pages (1201, 1202) have good starting wiring diagrams. The product pages also have a table and a schematic that answer your questions about what to do with the micro-step selector pins.