12V brushed DC motor motor control using Labview

I am very new to this topic area. i am currently using the Pololu (item #: 1442) motor to simply spin up a mechnical component on a fixture and am using Labview to measure and display the component’s RPMs. I am manually increasing/decreasing voltage on a power supply in order to achieve the desired RPM value. What is the easiest way to close-loop control this motor using Labview and power supply ? Should i be incorporating Pololu’s DRV8838 Single Brushed DC Motor Driver Carrier (item #: 2990) somehow. Would i be using Labview to input the PWM into the ENABLE input on this driver PCB ? Or, can i control the power supply (programmable Rigor DP832 pwr supply) with Labview and directly interface to motor from pwr supply to automatically increase/decrease voltage to achieve a desired spin rate?

Any guidance and/or technical literature references on this topic/application would be very appreciated. i’m not sure where to start, but since i already am using the Pololu motor with its encoder, i thought it best to start here on this blog.

thank-you very much for any help!

-jac2016

It sounds like you already have the encoder output being processed by LabVIEW to give you an RPM value and what you need is a motor driver or controller that can be controlled via LabVIEW as well. If you can output the appropriate PWM and digital logic signals, I do not see why you would not be able to use a driver that accepts those inputs; however, the DRV8838 carrier you mentioned is a bit under powered for those motors. We generally recommend a motor driver or controller that has a continuous current rating greater than your motor’s stall current. You might consider one of our High-Power Motor Drivers.

Another option would be to use a motor controller that accepts TTL Serial input, such as the Simple Motor Controllers.