Zumo 32U4: troubles with obstacle detection with IR sensors

Hi all.
I’ve got six Zumo 32U4 robots I want to use for a class. I am just beginning to understand how to adapt to this robot the code I’ve already created for my home-made Arduino-based robots (obstacle avoiding, wall following, complex behaviours…).

I am havng trouble with obstacle detection. I want the robot to see if there is an object at front-left, front, front-right position (and take decisions about subsequent robot moves: turn, go back…). Jumpers are as out-of-the-box, so I have left/front/right proximity sensors connected, but in this test I am just using the front one with
proxSensors.initFrontSensor()
proxSensors.read()
proxSensors.countsFrontWithLeftLeds() and countsFrontWithRightLeds()

Here is my (not optimized) code:

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Zumo32U4.h>

Zumo32U4ButtonA buttonA;
Zumo32U4ProximitySensors proxSensors;
Zumo32U4LCD lcd;

void setup()
{
  // Initialize the front-sensor mode
  proxSensors.initFrontSensor();

// Wait for the user to press button A.
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.print(F("Press A"));
  buttonA.waitForButton();
  lcd.clear();
}

void loop()
{
  int obs = obstacle();
  delay(200);
}

int obstacle()
// Check if an obstacle is present. 
// Return:
//   0 if no obstacle
//  -1 if obstacle is on the left
//  +1 if obstacle is on the right
//  +2 if obstacle is in front
{
  // A sensor reading must be greater than or equal to this
  // threshold in order for the program to consider that sensor as
  // seeing an object.
  const uint8_t sensorThreshold = 4;
  // delta between left and right readings, to consider the two readings as different
  const uint8_t sensorDelta = 1;

// Read the front proximity sensor and gets its left and right values (the
  // amount of reflectance detected while using the left or right LEDs)
  proxSensors.read();
  uint8_t leftValue  = proxSensors.countsFrontWithLeftLeds();
  uint8_t rightValue = proxSensors.countsFrontWithRightLeds();

// LCD stuff