Zumo 32U4 line following black line on white surface

Hello team,

Please can someone help me.

I have a Zumo32U4 robot… I am trying to write code to so that the robot follow the black line on a white surface. As I am new to it, I wanted to get some guidance.

Hello.

The LineFollower example program in our Zumo 32U4 library was designed to make a Zumo follow a black line on a white surface, so you might check that out to get started.

- Patrick

Hello Patrick,

Thanks a lot. I tested the example and it is working.

I wanted to stop robot when the line finishes.

I tried the following condition , however, it does not seem to work as expected

if ((lineSensors.readLine(0)< 2000) && (lineSensors.readLine(1)!= 2000) && (lineSensors.readLine(2)> 2000) )
{
motors.setSpeeds(0,0);
}

Please can you inform what condition can i put to stop the robot when the line finishes.

Best regards,
Kailash

You are not using the readLine function correctly since you are not giving it any sensor value variables to update, and this is just not a good application for that function. The return value of readLine is a number that represents the estimated position of the line, so it is not a useful tool for establishing whether there is a line because it tries to keep an estimate of which direction the line is if it does lose the line.

Instead, you can evaluate whether there is a line or not by looking at the individual sensor readings stored in the lineSensorValues array. If you want to turn off the motors when all the sensors read detect white, then you might want to use a condition that looks something like this:

int16_t threshold = 500;
if ((lineSensorValues[0] < threshold) && (lineSensorValues[1] < threshold) && (lineSensorValues[2] < threshold) &&(lineSensorValues[3] < threshold) && (lineSensorValues[4] < threshold))
{
  motors.setSpeeds(0,0);
}