XKCD Hamster Bot, Need help

I saw this comic recently: xkcd.com/413/ and decided I would like to do something very similar to what is shown there. My problem is I’m studying programing and have little knowledge in robotics. I am confident though that once I get pointed in the right direction I can successfully complete this project.

I have found a hamster ball with a 13" diameter and the EeePC I will use is only 9" wide and 7" deep and high.
I would like 4 or 6 wheels and motors for this project. where the Wheels are controlled in sets of 2.

Now for my question.
For a project of this size and specifications, what controllers or electronics other then the EeePC would you recommend me to use?

Hello,

Before you select your controllers or electronics, you need to figure out what motors you are going to use. Two of the key specs on motors are torque and RPM. To figure out the torque, you will need to make a rough free-body diagram of what your finished robot will be and how much the parts will weigh.

- Ryan

For the motor, I believe I would use 3-4 of these motors due to their size and power: pololu.com/catalog/product/996/ , 2 for drive and one or two to turn the bot. AS the laptop and ball will be about 1kg and the frame and other components I estimate to be anywhere between 2kg and 4kg. with a total weight between 3kg and 5kg.
I have yet to figure out which controllers/connectors I need if I want to use the laptop as the ‘brain’ of the bot.

Attached is a simple Design sketch of my changes to the comics design.

I don’t exactly see how you plan to turn the bot, can you be more specific about how that would work?