XBee switches

Hi!

I’m currently developing a project in which I control a Pololu Mini Maestro 24 or 18 using 6 switches and 1 potentiometer to control 5 different servos.

So far so good -until now I’m using wires-, but i’d like to turn the system wireless using XBee.I’m completely new to Xbee and also to serial UART. Is there a way to connect an Xbee transceiver to a Mini Maestro and make another Xbee send signals generated by switches so I can get rid of the cables?

Thank you.

Hi.

What you’re trying to do should be possible, but it seems like your question is mostly about the XBee, with which we don’t have any experience. If it’s just a wireless transceiver, you will have to put something (like a microcontroller) between your switches and one of the XBees so that you can decide what to send based on your switches. On the Maestro side, the XBee can probably connect directly, but you should double-check the serial specifications.

How are you controlling the Maestro now? Are you comfortable with programming microcontrollers?

- Jan

Thank you very much for your aswer.

I think I’d be able to program a microcontroller so it sends data to on of the Xbees depending on the input from switches, although any help on which components to use would be appreciated

My current configuration is as follows:

Six Switches for the user interface. Four servos. A Mini Maestro 18 board.

The board works powered by a dual cell 520mAh LiPo battery, no PC plugged, it just works according to the script running.

The user of the system pushes switches to select different positions for each servo. Two of the servos move according to the input of two switches each: one switch moves them one position left, the other one position right.