What does the yellow&red light mean and is my wixel broken?

Hi

I’m very new to this all and never worked with a Wixel before. I followed the Pololu Wixel User’s Guide and installed the Drivers & Software. I opened the Pololu Wixel Configuration Utility, selected an app (example blink) and plugged my wixel in my laptop. The red and yellow light are shining and the wixel doesn’t appear in the left column of the program. I don’t see the wixel in my Device manager.

I tried to manually get into bootloader mode (as the user guide says: see image below), but this didn’t help either.

Hello.

I am sorry you are having trouble getting your Wixel to be recognized by your computer. The behavior of the red and yellow indicator LEDs will be different under various conditions. Since you are trying to use your device for the first time, I expect the red and yellow LEDs to be lit. In the future, while the Wixel is running its app, the behavior of those LEDs will depend on the specific app loaded. (See the documentation of the app you loaded for more details.) You can learn more about those indicator LEDs under the “Module Pinout and Components” section of the Wixel’s user’s guide, which you can find under the Resources tab of the Wixel’s product page.

As for your issue, can you verify that you are using a working USB data cable (i.e. the cable you are using is not just a USB power cable, and it has been used to connect other USB devices to your laptop?). What happens when you try other USB ports? Also, can you confirm that the green indicator LED is lit, as well?

-Jon

Hi!

Thank you for your reply. Yes, I bought a 6’ USB A to mini-B cable for connecting the Wixel to a computer. Nothing happens when I connect it to other USB ports. So is it possible the cable just doesn’t work?
No, I only saw the green indicator LED once.