Voltage regulator for heatpad with PWM

Hi, I am fairly new to electronics and would like to ask if I should be concerned about thermal shut down for the voltage regulator.

I am trying to use a Pololu 12V step up regulator (U3V12F12), powered from two series LiPo batteries (~7.4V total), which then enters an Adafruit motor driver. This is then controlled via a PWM and ground signal, to heat a heatpad to certain temperature (a sensor feeds back to the uC, to control the duty cycle).

I have a couple of instances of breaking the MOSFET. I am now using an anti-static mat and bracelet, and was worried it could be due to LC voltage spikes so have added the 33uF capacitor between Vin and GND as recommended.

I need to power the heat-pad for excess of 12 hours. The load draws 0.5A at 12V, but the PWM duty cycle should never be higher than 50%. Furthermore, I may double the size of the heat-pad, so this may draw ~1A in future designs. Given thermal shut down with continuous operation, would I be safer using the Pololu 12V Step-Up/Step-Down Voltage Regulator S18V20F12 model?

Hello.

Could you clarify what was breaking (i.e. the regulator or the motor driver)?

With an input voltage of 7.4V and a 0.5A load at 12V, the input current would be around 0.9A, so I generally expect the U3V12F12 regulator to be fine (as mentioned on its product page, it can typically handle input currents as high as 1.4A).

However, if you double the load to 1A, you should use a more powerful regulator. The S18V20F12 regulator you mentioned would probably be fine, but I recommend the U3V40F12 regulator instead. It is a smaller form factor, can handle more current (so it should generally run cooler), and is more economical right now since the S18V20F12 is currently rationed due to the global part shortages.

Brandon

Hi Brandon,

Thank you for getting back to me so quickly. It was the motor driver that would break (no matter what PWM signal, there was no output). Thank you that is very helpful.