Vl53L0x - compare values

Friends:

I am a professor doing research with undergraduates. I am turning to this forum because it seems MUCH more collegial, kind, helpful and thoughtful than any other forums which I have read. Here is the issue:

I am testing the Time-of-Flight board for a project and am unclear about inserting a delay value into the code that is based on distance measurements. In summary, at long distances an ERM is activated in one pattern, and at short distances it is activated in another pattern. I need a delay between activation patterns that is proportional to distance but have been unsuccessful. Sample code is inserted with comments. The problem is that the delay must be very short if the distance drops suddenly. I have been unsuccessful in doing so. Suggestions about how to code that DELAY?

Ideally, I’d like to compare a stored previous distance (“int inches”) with a new distance reading (“int new_inches”) but I have been unsuccessful. I would really appreciate specific suggestions of code syntax and placement.

Thanks in advance.

The portion of the sketch with the problem is noted by this line “//HERE IS THE PROBLEM PORTION**”

#include <Wire.h>
#include "Adafruit_VL53L0X.h"

Adafruit_VL53L0X lox = Adafruit_VL53L0X();

int pin5 = 5;// to debug with LED
int ERM = 6;
int y = 10;

int inches;

void setup() {
  pinMode (pin5, OUTPUT);//to debug with LED
  Serial.begin(115200);

// wait until serial port opens for native USB devices
  while (! Serial) {
    delay(1);
  }

Serial.println(F("Adafruit VL53L0X test"));
  if (!lox.begin()) {
    Serial.println(F("Failed to boot VL53L0X"));
    while (1);
  }
  // power
  Serial.println(F("VL53L0X test\n\n"));
}

void loop() {
  VL53L0X_RangingMeasurementData_t measure;

//Serial.print(F("Reading a measurement... "));
  lox.rangingTest(&measure, false); // pass in 'true' to get debug data printout!

if (measure.RangeStatus != 4) {  // phase failures have incorrect data
  }