Using Pololu USB AVR Programmer v2 to load bootloader on to Adafruit Pro Trinket 3V

Pololu Team:

I’m having a similar problem I’ve been struggling with for a couple days. I’m new to flashing a bootloader, so I’ll apologize in advance for my ignorance.

I have an Adafruit Trinket Pro 3v, which I’m trying to write a bootloader on using the Pololu AVR V2 Programmer. I’m seeing an error which indicates lack of power at VCC. However, when I measure voltage at the Trinket Pro +3v3 pin (which I believe from reading the schematic is VCC for the AtMega328P), I get +3.32v. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Details are as follows:

Error
Error message (on Pololu AVR 2 Programmer Utility):
Error: Target power error.
Target VCC went outside of the allowed range, so programming was aborted. Make sure that the target is powered on and its batteries are not too low (if applicable).

** Pololu AVR V2 Programmer Status**
Target VCC measured Minimum: 832 mV
Target VCC measured Maximum: 832 mV
Programmer VCC measured Minimum: 3328 mV
Programmer VCC measured Maximum: 3328 mV

Regulator Mode: Auto
VCC Output: Disabled

Red light is flashing on programmer approx 1/sec
Green light is on solid
Programming Port: /dev/cu.usbmodem00186662
TTL Port: /dev/cu.usbmodem00186664

Adafruit Trinket Pro Vcc
The schematic for the Adafruit Pro 3v is here:

Configuration:
Mac OSX Sierra v10.12.5
Pololu USB AVR 2 programmer - connected via usb to the FTDI Header of the programmer to the Trinket Pro
Adafruit Trinket Pro 3v - supplied external power of 5.2v of power across the Bat+ and GND pins.
Measures +3.32v at the +3v3 pin

Ports:
ls -al /dev/cu.usb*
crw-rw-rw- 1 root wheel 20, 71 Jun 22 08:28 /dev/cu.usbmodem00186662
crw-rw-rw- 1 root wheel 20, 73 Jun 22 08:27 /dev/cu.usbmodem00186664

Command:

$ avrdude -c avrispv2 -p ATmega328P -P /dev/cu.usbmodem00186662 -v -v

avrdude: Version 6.3, compiled on Sep 17 2016 at 02:19:28
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/