USB AVR Prog / SLOscope in C#: Unable to load 'sloscope.dll'

Hello,

I have been using my USB AVR Programmer for a few months now as a basic ISP programmer and it works great. I am running it on Win XP 32 bit machines.

I played around with the SLO-scope application, runs fine. I would now like to try something more advanced and want to modify the C# SLOscope app source code.

I downloaded “SLO-scope client C# source code (56k zip)” from pololu.com/catalog/product/1300/resources as well as Microsoft Visual C# Express and installed them. Loaded sloscope_client solution.

When I hit F5 (Start Debug) the application will not start, and I get the following Error message box:
Unable to load DLL ‘sloscope.dll’: The specified module could not be found (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

Not sure what I’m missing. Tried adding a reference to the DLL through Project>Add Reference>Browse and selecting sloscope.dll but get an error telling me that the reference could not be added and to make sure that the file is a valid assembly or COM component. I do not know enough about sloscope.dll and .NET to know where to go next.

Hoping you can help me and others out on how to get started.

Thanks,
George

Hello, MGeo.

Are you using Microsoft Visual C# Express 2008 or 2010? What version of Windows are you using?

In the Debug tab of the project properties for the Visual C# project you downloaded, the working directory is set to “.”, which should allow the application to find DLLs that are in the same directory as sloscope_client.csproj. Can you verify that there is a sloscope.dll in the same directory as sloscope_client.csproj?

If Windows still has trouble finding the DLL, you should try copying it to C:\Windows\system32 or C:\Windows\system.

Our sloscope.dll is a WIN32/unmanaged DLL, not a .NET/managed DLL so adding a Reference to it is not the right thing to do.

–David

Running Win XP SP3, VS C# Express 2010.