Understanding the MinIMU-9 output

Hi all,

I recently purchased a MinIMU-9 to use on a robotic project, but I am new to using gyros and accelerometers. I am using a Beagleboard-XM to communicate to the MinIMU-9 using an I2C link. I have used I2C with other devices which work OK. The comms to MinIML-9 also seems to work OK.
I first intended just to try the Compass and I found a sample Arduino program based on the LSM303DLH were my MinIMU-9 is based on the LSM303DLM. I modified the Arduino program to run on the Beagleboard which seems to run OK, but the values I am getting I am not sure how to interpret. The Beaglebroad is running Ubuntu and has a set of I2C tools that lets you dump the contents of some I2C device registers, using this I have confirmed that my program is reading the registers correctly.

From the datasheet for the LSM303DLM I understand that the raw data for each of the 3 axis is 12 bits in a range -2048 to 2027 in a 2’s complement form. When I examine the 3 pairs of registers from reg 0x03 I sometimes get values like ‘FF 8C’, should the top most ‘F’ be masked off before doing any calculations?

The other thing is that when I rotate the module through 90 degrees keeping the board horizontal I don’t seem get a meaningful change in the x / y values.

I have set the CRA_REG_M (0x00) to 0x14, output rate 30Hz
Left CRB_REG_M (0x01) to 0x20, Gain ±1.3g
MR_REG_M (0x02) to 0x00, continuous Conversion mode.

Please see attach screen shots of the registers before and after the 90 degree rotation.

Can anyone enlighten me to what I am doing wrong or at least what I am misunderstanding?

Thanks Ernie

Hello.

Have you calibrated the magnetometer? Are you sure you ported the code from the Arduino exactly correctly? I would recommend posting the simplest complete bit of your code that does not work as you expect it to.

- Ryan

Hi Ryan,