UM6 SPI Bus Programming

Hello,
I have recently purchased a UM6-lt. I have been able to use it over the UART tty, but the overhead required to parse the packets seems like overkill. I was impressed with the documentation for the UART packet structure, but when it comes to the SPI bus protocol specifications I have found the documentation severly lacking. I understand that the latest firmware is able to communicate over SPI, but I have found no documentation anywhere on the internet or in the manual as how to implement SPI with the UM6. I have never used SPI before, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Andrew

Hello, Andrew.

Unfortunately, we don’t have any information beyond what is on the product page and in the user’s manual. I suggest you try contacting CH Robotics directly. If you have any trouble getting support from them, please let us know.

- Ben

Ben,

Thank you for your prompt response. I have been communicating with the helpful staff at CH Robotics. They sent me the following link providing more explicit details for using the SPI bus: docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc … VJuMV84QUE

Given that the UM6 SPI mode is 0. I should be able to easily implement a library to communicate with the UM6 over SPI.

I’m glad to hear you were able to get the information you were looking for, and thank you for sharing what you found with us!

- Ben

Andrew,

I too have been trying to talk SPI with the UM6. The UM6 is responding to me, but the packets aren’t making sense.

Have you found robust settings to use? If so, can you comment on frequencies, polarities, phase settings, or slave select timing?

Thanks,
Jimmy

I also am having trouble with SPI.
See my post on the CHRobotics site.

chrobotics.com/forum/viewtop … =9&t=17608

Amos

Hello Andrew,