UART to USB application

Two days of hard work has not resulted in making this application work correctly. I’m an embedded engineer with years of experience. I have a good serial port monitor, as well as your own serial transmitter for testing. I’m using a known serial input (produces GPS coordinates reliably for other applications). This is being run on XP. The two modules were purchased 3 weeks ago, pre-wired.

Lights flash as they should. The configuration utility says the latest app has loaded correctly with correct port baud rate, etc. The input is correctly wired (3.3v levels)…

The two monitors show nonsense bytes. Connecting the same input to my Belken serial-USB interface works as before, so the input is fine.

I suspect that the Windows XP driver is not up to it (I loaded this as the manual indicates).

Any suggestions?? It seems to be a great product with lots of thought, good manual, etc. I just can’t make it work.

Any suggestions? Thanks

Further to my previous posting, I’ve looped-back the Tx-Rx and what I send I get back OK. The Wixel seems to be working OK, but what it gets from my ‘reliable’ serial input (correct baud rate, stop bits, etc.) is not correct. Is it possible that the Wixel is inverting bits at the input?? Maybe transposing bytes in octal words??

Thanks

Hello, genem.

I’m sorry you are having trouble with the Wixel. It should work fine in Windows XP SP3.

What Wixel App have you loaded onto your Wixel(s) and what settings did you choose? How is everything connected? What settings did you select when you started your terminal program (baud rate, stop bits, parity, etc.)?

–David

Dear David,

You seem to be Pololu’s technical guru. Well done. As I said, having done lots of commercial embedded stuff over the years, I really appreciate what you’re doing.