Two buttons to move one servo step by step

Hello!

I have searched and tried modifying example scripts with no success… I am a beginner in programming…

I would like to move one servo clockwise with button 1 and anti clockwise with a push on button 2.

The goal is to have 10 defined positions that button 1 & 2 steps though. One step at the time at either way. When I reach the end I want the servo to stop until the other button is pushed.

To explain more easy - I want to change gears on a bicycle with + and - buttons.

Please help!

Hello.

I would suggest looking at the “Using multiple buttons or switches to control servos” example script and using it as a starting point. The main BEGIN/REPEAT block would probably not need to be changed other than removing the button_c if sequence_c endif line of code. If you take out the rest of the code for button c, you are left with four subroutines: button_a, button_b, sequence_a, and sequence_b. Then, you would need to change the sequence_a and sequence_b subroutines to do what you want when their respective buttons are pushed.

There are probably a lot of ways to get 10 discrete positions and have two buttons step through them one at a time. One way to do it would be to check the position of the servo with the get_position command and add or subtract a particular value from it (depending on which button was pushed). For example, sequence_a might look like this:

sub sequence_a
  2 get_position       #check the position of servo 2
  448 plus             #increase the position
  2 servo              #send servo 2 to the new position
  150 delay
return