Tracked robot motor/control questions

Hi All,

Hope someone can point me in the right direction. I am a complete newbie in the robotics world. I have been heavily involved in the RC hobby(planes, cars, heels, quads, etc) for over 21+ years and I have some Arduino experience.

I am embarking on building my first robot. For this project I would the robot be either controlled by RC when active or autonomous via a Raspberry Pi ( I plan on adding some AI to the robot in the future so that is why I want to use the PI).

For the platform I bought a XiaoR Geek Smart Robot Car Tank Chassis Kit. The kit came with geared 12V 370(?) motors which are 160RPM.

I hooked one of the motors up to an RC speed controller with a 2 cell LIPO battery and it does not move the tracks.

Can somebody help me with some recommendations:

1. Power: I would like to use a LIPO or LION battery to power the robot. How many cells would be recommenced? A 3 cell is in the 12V range

2. Motors? Is the supplied motors ok…how do I get them to move the tracks (I would like to have proportional speed control if possible)

3. Speed controller: I see Pololu has speed controllers which accept multiple inputs. I am guess a simple motor controller V2 would be what I am looking for.

Thanks!!!

tbirg

Hello.

We are not too familiar with that robot kit, but using a 3-cell LiPo or Li-ion to power 12V motors seems fine. Keep in mind that you will probably need a step-down regulator to power your Raspberry Pi.

I hope the supplied motors are okay for that kit given that they came with it. You might try testing them without the tracks to make sure they are working, and you could also try connecting them directly to a power supply rather than through your RC speed controller to make sure that is not the problem, but if you keep having trouble with them you might want to contact the manufacturer.