Tic T825 motor settings and motor locking up

Since I am new to stepper motors this is probably a silly question that everybody else knows the answer to. BTW Pololu thanks for the quick delivery on my order.

Unlike a brushed motor, when applying slight torque to the output shaft a brushed motor will recover and continue to spin but I noticed the stepper motor comes to a dead stop and locks up.

The holding torque is much stronger than the running torque?

I am assuming this must be inherent in stepper motors and not some adjustment I need to make to the Motor Settings using the Tic software?

Thanks

Hi.

It does not seem normal for a stepper motor to lock up with too much applied torque like that unless it is being commanded to step at a fairly fast speed. If you use a very slow step rate, does your motor still lock up?

-Claire

You are correct, slower speeds provide higher torque. Using the Tic software I had to lower the velocity to 10000 which is pretty slow. I was using the #1476 motor which is 55 oz-in. Do you think that going to the #1472 which is 125 oz-in will give me better torque at higher speeds?

To compare how much torque each of those motors can provide at various speeds, you should look at the pull-out torque curves in each of their datasheets. You can find the datasheets for each of those motors on the resources tabs of their respective product pages:

In this case it seems like your current motor might handle faster speeds without losing torque better.

In general, using a higher motor voltage can also help get higher torques at faster speeds. What is your input voltage? What is your current limit set to?

-Claire

Hi Claire, thank you for pointing me to the Pull out torque curve, that was very helpful.