Synchronize Maestro sequence to external clock

I am a newbie using the Maestro 6 controller. It is working great for my animatronic project. However, I am not a programmer. I would like to be able to synchronize the movements to music. So I would like to know if it would be possible to control the speed of the sequence based on a hardware clock input I am open to use any controller, even Arduino or similar to do the job. But I like the simplicity of control using the Maestro controller software.

Hello.

It is possible for you to control the speed of a sequence based on an external clock, however, it would be very difficult and inaccurate if you are planning to read and handle those values directly from the Maestro. I recommend that you use a microcontroller to handle the music synchronization and control the Maestro’s sequence execution via serial commands. You can find more details about the Maestro serial commands in the “Serial Servo Commands” and “Serial Script Commands” sections of the Maestro User’s Guide. It might be convenient for you to use an Arduino or an Arduino-compatible board (like our A-Stars), since there are a lot of music synchronization examples for the Arduino that you can find on the Internet to help you get started. You might also consider using the Arduino Maestro library, which makes it easier to control the Maestro from an Arduino or an Arduino-compatible board.

Alternatively, you might be interested in using Brookshire’s Visual Show Automation software, which provides a visual interface to choreograph animatronic sequences, and has a feature that allows users to specify that they are using a Maestro controller. We do not use VSA, but some of our customers have used it to send commands to the Maestro. You can search the forum to see examples of people using VSA with the Maestro.

- Amanda

Amanda,

Thanks so much for your detailed response.