Stable rpm on motor port

Hi,

i want to have a certain amount of rpm on my motor by rapidly changing amounts of torque. is “pwm” the right term for approaching that? i’m a newbie at this: do i have to connect to a servo port for this? what i need is a higher amount of motor current (close to the 2A)…

thanks!

PWM is used to control the motor current. To maintain a steady RPM, the motor shaft must be connected to a position or rotational velocity encoder that enables you to measure the rate of rotation. In response to small changes in rotational rate (as the motor load changes), you can change the PWM to restore the desired rate.

Ok, i understand. I’ve got a gear motor with 100 rpm. When i hold the axis (e.g. with my hand), it goes down to 90 rpm. Can you imagine that it is possible to measure this difference very accurate an rise the current so fast, that the motor e.g. comes back to 100 rpm after 100ms? and the other way round? if my motor is running at. e.g. 80 rpm and suddenly the mechanical hold is lowered, my motor goes up to 90 rpm but i need to constantly stay at 80. is that kind of accuracy possible with a normal velocity encoder? Is PWM more accurate than just changing the values of the motor speed? can i find a sample program somewhere for measuring the motor velocity and the corresponding change of PWM command?

thanks again!

This is done all the time. Basically this is how the cruise control on a vehicle works, but more generally the approach is called “Process Control”. However, no realistic implementation can maintain an exact rpm, so the device complexity depends on how accurately you need to maintain the rotational velocity. For example is 78-82 rpm OK, or do you need 79.99-80.01 rpm?

The details will depend on what motor and encoder combination you have. Pololu sells a few motors with built in encoders if you want to experiment.

Ok, i’ll try it out.
Another question to this topic: