Simple & Reliable Line Following Robot (with PID)

Greetings from Dubai!

This is my first attempt building a robot using parts ordered from Pololu which arrived on my doorstep directly from Las Vegas in less than 3 days by Fedex.

The construction is really simple, made of widely available materials, requires minimum soldering and no special tools needed.

1 - Chassis

I found that prototyping PCB is cheap and sturdy enough as robot’s body, and it’s pretty easy to cut just using board cutter.

2 - Motor Brackets

Motor brackets are bolted directly to the PCB.

3 - Motors

I choose 70mm wheels attached on 30:1 Micro Metal Gearmotors. The motors are 6V Low Power model, which surprisingly giving ample of speed around 1.2m/s (see video below).

4 - Sensors

The classic QTR-8RC IR reflectance sensors array is attached to a prototype PCB via 10-pin headers (8 sensors, Vcc and Ground, I omitted the IR-emitter pin).

The sensors are connected to Arduino microcontroller via ribbon cable. I know my soldering skill is not good but it works :slight_smile:

5 - Motor Driver

Pololu’s DRV8835 Dual Motor Driver Carrier is small and has simple connectivity: for each motor only need 1 digital output for direction and 1 digital PWM output for motor speed. It’s good enough to feed two LP motors without any problem.

6 - The “brain”

I managed to cramp everything in a small 3.5cm x 4.5cm breadboard (1.38"x1,77").

Motors are connected directly to DRV8835 via small breadboard jumper cable, which should be fine since the LP motors draw relatively small current.

7 - The chassis is extended using 1mm thickness foam board (those to put posters, available at stationary shops or supermarkets). The 3/8" caster ball is mounted close to the sensor.

8 - Overall Weight

After putting 1400mAh LiPo battery, the overall weight of the robot is just 177 grams.

9 - It’s ready to go.