Sharp Digital Distance Senor and Carrier

I am new to robotics and taking an introductory course on it. I’m trying to build a candy dispenser for my final. The idea is to have a humanoid looking figure sense a hand in front of it and lift its arm to present a skittle that falls out of its “pocket” (hip).

Anyway, I have purchased the Pololu Carrier with Sharp GP2Y0D810Z0F Digital Distance Sensor 10cm and a S3004 Standard Ball Bearing Futaba Servo. I don’t know how to hook the two up together, nor how to connect them both to a power source. I’d like to use batteries as the power source.

If anyone can help me figure this out I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your time.

Hello,
The Sharp Distance Sensor will generate a digital signal that is a 1 when something is in front of it and 0 otherwise. The servo requires a pulse-train input that can be generated by a microcontroller. Is there some robot controller that you are already using for your class? If not, I would recommend getting the Orangutan SV-328 and learning how to program it to coordinate the servo and the sensor. We include an example project that shows how to control servos, and reading a signal from the sensor is very straightforward.

-Paul

We have a servo controller here at the school. It looks like a big RC controller, so I’m guessing thats not the same at all. Would the Baby Orangutan B-328 Robot Controller work with the Sharp sensor as well? I’m trying to keep things small inside the shell of the candy dispenser. it stands about 12 inches tall and is 3.345" thick and 5.147" wide at its widest point.

Thanks again for taking the time to respond.

Hello,