Servo travel, modding and sail winches

I am new at computer controlled side of servos and am working on a project using servos to act as analog gauge needles. I found that the Futaba 3004 that I purchased has a range of about 200 degrees, which sounds about where most better servos perform.

My question is about the internal stop(s) on the servo. Are there CW and CCW stops, or is it one stop that acts as both stops? I know that you can mod to get continuous rotation, but does that remove your reference point for calibrating the servo for neutral?

I want to keep the cost of this project down (there could be 6-8 gauges, since I’m running a 727 8-servo serial controller) and I find the cost of sail winches prohibitive, and is there a difference between a moded servo and a sail winch?

Thanks for your input!
DaveP in Ohio

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. Usually hobby servos only have one mechanical stop, a peg sticking up from one of the gears that hits another gear when it rotates too far. The problem is that tab is there for a good reason.

A servo measures it’s position using a rotary potentiometer, the same kind you would expect to find behind most volume control knobs. Potentiometers consist of a resistive strip, with a “wiper” that rotates with the output shaft, dragging along the strip. As the wiper moves, the resistance between the wiper and either end of the strip changes. If the potentiometer is wired up as a voltage divider, the resulting change in voltage can be measured to determine the position of the wiper, and the servo output shaft it’s connected to.