Serial communication on baby orangutan from Arduino IDE

Edit: I will update this when I actually solve my problem, but for now I want to say that I found the right track. I am not using the Pololu USB AVR programmer correctly, according to Arduino, BabyO (B-168), and Serial Communications?.

Edit2:
I confirm, it was my fault. I didn’t realize the Pololu Usb AVR programmer needs additional lines connecting to the RX and TX lines. Everthing is dandy now. Where I was observing the LED behaving weird, was because the red led is on PD0 (or PD1, I don’t remember, but one of the serial com pins)

Hello!

I’m running a baby orangutan from the Arduino environment. I’m using the arduino environment in part because I’m a newb, and also because after I leave my internship I need the other people at work to be able to upload code without any problems, and I do find Arduino very beginner friendly.

I’m using the Pololu USB AVR programmer (super nice), and I can load a blinking LED sketch. I see the LEDs blink. Then, when I use arduino’s built in serial functions (which I’ve used on other arduino board projects without problem), I notice my sketch hangs up.

Case1:
Blink led example works.

Case2: adding some basic commands that also serial print “ledon” and “ledoff” to the blink loop, makes the sketch hang with the led on, but no other information*. *I’ll note that my code has me declare that the pin1 (baby-o led pin) is an Output before I say Serial.begin(115200). I’ll try running it with Serial.begin first, to see if I don’t get a lit LED in that case.

Case3: Removing the serial.println commands,so that all I do, besides the basic blink sketch, is add “Serial.begin(115200);” and I have the same problem with sketch hanging up with a lit led but not a properly blinking led.

Case4: I take the same code, and comment out Serial.begin(115200), and I have my blinking LED sketch working again.