Running 3pi sample program on X2?

I’ve just received my X2 and wanted to start out with some code that I knew was good. I am just starting to learn programming, but wanted to at least get my bot moving under RC power, so I looked into the 3pi RC program. I changed a few values to match up with the different pin set up between the boards, built it up and sent it to the board. Everything looked to be going smooth with no errors, but the board is not seeming to respond to the RC inputs. Of course I started troubleshooting with hardware to ensure that my motors, receiver and transmitter were all working properly.

Some of the 3pi code sample specifically state that they cannot be run on the X2, but I did not see this statement on the 3pi RC project. Does anyone know if this program will work and if so, how would I modify it to work on the X2?

Thanks in advance!

katmandu42,

Sorry, but the Pololu AVR Library currently does not support the Orangutan X2.

An easy way for you to get started with the X2 would be to download the Orangutan X2 test code from the Orangutan X2’s resource page. Try to compile it yourself and load it on to the X2 and get it to work. Then try making little modifications to it until it does what you want.

But if you really want to adapt the 3pi sample program, here’s what you need to know:

You are probably using the Pololu AVR Library when you compiled your 3pi sample program. This means that when you call any library function, such as “set_motors”, you are running code that was compiled for the ATmega 328 processor but you are running it on ATmega 644. This can definitely cause problems.