Run Nema Stepper 17 with Raspberry Pi

Hi,

I tried to run a stepper motor with my raspberry Pi 3+, it all worked well in the beginning but then I fried the chip. I am using a 12V 5A power supply and my stepper has a rated current of 2Amps and coil resistance of 1.1Ohm. I contacted the support of Adafruit and they recommended Pololu. But now I am puzzled on which stepper motor driver is suitable. I am very new in electronics and thus not quite familiar with what to bear in mind when choosing such components.

Best wishes,
Tobia

Hello, Tobia.

We have a few stepper motor drivers and Tic stepper motor controllers that might work for a stepper motor like that, but I am not sure which will fit best into your current setup with your Raspberry Pi 3+. Can you tell me what driver you were using before it fried and if you had any other electronics between your Raspberry Pi and the driver? Could you post links to what you are using?

- Patrick

Hi Patrick,

I was using the recommended software from Adafruit. I was basically following the instruction from this page:

except the fact that I did not check the current rating of the motors sufficiently. My setup consists only of these parts:

• Raspberry Pi 3+
  • 12V, 5Amp power supply for the motor HAT
  • two Nema 17 stepper motors (2Amps, 1.1Ohm)
  • Adafruit DC and Stepper Motor HAT

The motor HAT was plugged directly onto the Raspberry Pi.

The moment I fried the chip was when I run the Example Code several times in a short interval. It can be found at the end of this page:

Thanks for your help,

Tobia