Romi + Maestro compile error

Hi,
I am very new to use Romi and Pololu Maestro Servo Controller.
I tried to use Maestro to move Romi Robot Arm’s servo motor.
I made a program based on the sample program.
But my program is compile error.

Part of my program following:

#include <Servo.h>
#include <Romi32U4.h>
#include <PololuRPiSlave.h>
#include <PololuMaestro.h>
#ifdef SERIAL_PORT_HARDWARE_OPEN
#define maestroSerial SERIAL_PORT_HARDWARE_OPEN
#else
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial maestroSerial(0, 1);
#endif

MicroMaestro maestro(maestroSerial);

void setup()
{
maestroSerial.begin(9600);
}

And error following:

SoftwareSerial\SoftwareSerial.cpp.o: In function `__vector_9':

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\avr\libraries\SoftwareSerial/SoftwareSerial.cpp:306: multiple definition of `__vector_9'

Romi32U4\Romi32U4Encoders.cpp.o:D:\document\Arduino\libraries\Romi32U4/Romi32U4Encoders.cpp:27: first defined here

collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

I can’t solve this problem.

Could you help me?

Hello.

It looks like there is a conflict between Arduino’s SoftwareSerial library and the Romi32U4Encoders library. The Romi32U4Encoders library uses an ISR (interrupt service routine) for PCINT0_vect and so does the SoftwareSerial library, which explains the conflict. (We mention this compile-time conflict happening when using the Romi32U4Encoders library with other code that defines a pin-change ISR and an ISR for an external interrupt in the code comments in Romi32U4Encoders.h.) I was able to run your code without any errors (I had to add an empty loop() to make it compile successfully). What board do you have selected in your Arduino IDE and what version of the IDE are you using? I expect the ifdef block for setting the maestroSerial object to use the Romi 32U4’s hardware serial port.