Romi chassis with #3543 power board and motor controller

This is a link to my youTube video on getting the Romi chassis with the power board and motor controller up and running.

If I did anything crazy or stupid in there, be sure to let me know. I’m a coder, but pretty new to electronics and robotics. I never know if I’m violating some basica rule that is going to short my whole board out or something.

Nice work on this, pololu. Takes a little work getting the board back in because of the battery “spring” and I needed to take a motor out to do it. I didn’t realize when I soldered the battery terminals that it hadn’t been pushed all the way through, so my battery connectors hang a little low in the box. No big deal.

Hello.

Thank you for sharing your video. I did not notice anything obviously wrong from your test setup. You might consider using our Arduino library for the Pololu DRV8835 dual motor driver. The Motor Driver and Power Distribution Board for Romi Chassis uses two DRV8838 motor drivers, which use the same PHASE/ENABLE control interface as the DRV8835 driver, so as long as you make the connections to the appropriate pins, it should be compatible.

Also, I am not sure if you have seen it or not, but the “Dimensions and mounting holes” section of the Romi Chassis User’s Guide has a diagram that specifies what holes on the Romi Chassis align with the mounting holes on an Arduino Uno. The Arduino Mega has the same mounting holes (and a couple additional ones), so you should be able to mount it the same way if you wanted to. I have attached the diagram below for convenience.

By the way, do you plan on making more videos about your Romi robot? If so, do you have any applications or challenges in mind?

Brandon

Thanks for the info on the library and the alignment holes. I’ll look into that.