Robotic arm help

I am planning on making a robotic arm for an experiment. I am currently looking at the Serial 8-servo controller for its price an apparent flexibility. However I am new to piecing together pieces for building a robot and I have a few questions.

First I am not new to robotics in general just to piecing together actual hardware and then appropriate programming applications ECT.

What I am interested in building as I said is a multi-axis arm (not to large) with a camera all controlled by a computer. Now the arm doesn’t have to be connected to the camera but the computer has to “see” with the camera as well as move the arm all at the same time.

What I am wonder is in your opinion
-would the Serial 8-servo controller be best for this sort of set up
-what would be a good camera for this set up (price is not really an issue but cheaper is better and I only need moderate to good “blob/color” tracking)
-is there a good program environment if so is there one that uses C, C++, or java that can control the robot through a serial port (as that is probably the most likely connection method)
-also any other help would be appreciated.

If you need to know something before you can help just ask.

Thank you for any help.

Hello,

The serial 8-servo controller could definitely control a servo-based arm from your serial port. Your idea does seem quite ambitious for a first robot project. Perhaps you could begin by getting a servo controller and one or a few servos and get your software controlling them to see what kind of performance you get. If you are programming for Windows, Microsoft has free versions of their various programming packages (Visual C#, Visual Basic, etc.), and they have serial port access built-in now. They are quite nice, and it won’t cost you anything to see if you like them.