Reseting Orangutan?

So, this morning I was trying to program my Baby Orangutan with a custom written program for driving a stepper motor. I was tapping power for the orangutan off of a USB port(I didn’t have any batteries on hand). Because the program was switching the Motor Driver so much it was heating up, so when I went back to the computer to make code adjustments I would unplug it so It did not fry the Orangutan. I was using a Pololu USB Programmer under Debian Linux. It had programmed 5 or 6 times just before that with 100 percent success. When I started programming it, I realized I had the BABY-O Unplugged from the Power USB Port, and immediately plugged it in. I had read somewhere that If you program it while its off it will damage the Fuse Bits. As soon as I plugged it back in the program failed, and has not been able to program since then.

Is there a way to reset the ATmega168 to factory defaults to cure any Fuse Bits it may have messed up, or to you guys have any idea what I should do to fix it?

Thanks,

Alex

Hello.

Can you still talk to the programmer? Can you read the device signature of your Baby Orangutan? What error messages do you get when you try to program it?

The only thing I can really suggest at this point is you decrease the ISP frequency of the programmer to one of its two lowest settings (603 Hz or 4 kHz) and try to read the Orangutan’s device signature. The Orangutan USB Programmer user’s guide explains how to do this with AVR Studio.

- Ben

For a bare chip, there are a couple of options. One of the better ones is to use HV programming, which can be done off of a STK500 or AVR-Dragon without too much hair-pulling. I haven’t checked which pins HVPROG uses on the 168, so I don’t know if this would be possible on the Baby-O. But my guess is it would since almost all the I/O pins come out to headers on the Baby-O.