Quick noob question

I just bought one of these microcontrollers, and I’m completely new to programming and building robots. I’m just wondering, how do I connect wires to the I/O ports? The side that plugs into my encoder had a special connector, does this need one like that too?

Hello.

I can give you some general advice here, but I need to know which Orangutan you’re using and more details about your encoder connector if you want me to be more specific.

On most Orangutan models, the general I/O lines come out to a 3xN header where the row near the edge of the board is ground, the middle row is power (either 5 V or VIN, depending on jumper settings), and the inside row consists of the I/O lines themselves. Typically, when you connect a sensor to your Orangutan, you will need to connect the sensor’s signal line to an Orangutan I/O line of your choice (somewhere on the inside row) and the sensor’s ground line to ground on your Orangutan (somewhere on the outside row). If your sensor needs power, you can get that from the middle row.

Now, if your sensor has a special connector, you will probably need to create your own adapter that will connect to your sensor on one side and give you wires you can plug into (or solder to) your Orangutan on the other side. A few wires, some wire strippers, a soldering iron, and some solder might be all you need for a quick solution. In my experience, when I build robots I end up making a lot of custom connectors for my sensors.

- Ben

Thanks for the help! I was thinking about just soldering them on, but I’m just afraid of messing something up and ruining the microcontroller, so obviously I would rather have some removable connector. But if that’s not possible, that’s fine too. Specifically, I have this microcontroller:

pololu.com/products/pololu/0225/

along with this encoder:

acroname.com/robotics/parts/R253-WW02.html