Question about possibly under powered servos

So I think it’s a power issue but I can’t seem to narrow it down. In part that I am completely new to this.

I have the Maestro Micro and I’m trying to use two MG90S’s. I’m powering the Maestro by USB and the servos with a 6V 2000mAh battery. When I try to move the servos using the Maestro controller they BARELY move. I’d describe it as like the ticking of a second hand, only slower.

The battery is fully charged and brand new. I also tried to use a 9V battery and I saw the exact same result. It’s also the same for one servo or two. I don’t have another source of power to test with but something doesn’t seem right.

I’ll mention (because I don’t know if it matters) I’m running the controller program from Bootcamp on a mac.

Hello.

Could you post a copy of your settings file? You can save your settings file from the “File” drop-down menu of the Maestro Control Center. Additionally, can you post some pictures of your setup showing all of your connections?

Also, do you have anything else you can use to test your servos separately to make sure they are not damaged (e.g. an RC receiver/transmitter or separate microcontroller like an Arduino)?

Brandon

Thank you for your reply. Here are the setting file and setup. It’s very basic since I’m just trying to get the servo powered.

maestro_settings.txt (1.5 KB)

Here is a gif of the servo.

I don’t have another means to test the servo. If you think they are damaged I can buy another one.

Thank you for the additional information. Your connections look okay. I noticed from your settings file that you are using a period of 10ms. Could you try changing the period to 20ms at the bottom of the “Channel Settings” tab to see if that makes any difference with your servos?

Brandon

Hi Brandon.
I tried to update it to 20 ms and applied the setting but it had no effect. Not only that but whenever I went back to that tab it reset to 10 ms again.