Question about Polulu 2590 encoder and arduino

Hi Guys, first, I have zero experience using an optical encoder with DC motors. So my questions is more of "is there some tutorials or handy libraries " type of thing.

I am trying to use a Polulu 2590 optical encoder that fits in the rear of a micro metal gear motor. pololu.com/product/2590

The short of it is, is there any tutorials or articles available on how to use these? Does someone have arduino code examples of this in action?

The long form:

I know there are larger motors that have nice libraries and integrated rear hall effect encoders, but I am trying to keep the size down and thought this would be the right motor/encoder combo. I also need to use the rear-encoder style because im trying to use this system with the polulu tracks like the one that comes with the zumo. Basically, im trying to achieve a zumo robot with encoder.

I have google searched and forum searched with little to no information on using these encoders with the Arduino. So I have no where to turn for useful information regarding using this encoder for speed/positional control for the micrometal motors , and ideally using them with the Arduino.

The only thing I came up with is using the polulu DC motor shield with this encoder, but im not sure the shield supports quadrature encoders. Anyway, any direction, tutorials, or advice would be extremely helpful.

Thanks,
Anupam

Hello, Anupam.