Question about Encoder Motors with DualG2 18v18 Driver

Hello:

I’m using this driver: Pololu Dual G2 High-Power Motor Driver 18v18 Shield for Arduino
With these motors: Pololu - 150:1 Metal Gearmotor 37Dx73L mm 12V with 64 CPR Encoder (Helical Pinion)
Using a Mega as the processor (powered by the driver) and a 11.1 V Lipo battery.

I tried using the default example code provided by the driver library however the motor never powers on. Will it only power on if the encoder is hooked up and receiving/sending info as well? I ask because I left the encoder wires out/unplugged when using the example code just to make sure things were wired properly, could this have been the issue?

I’ve never used an encoder DC motor before so if anyone could point me in the right direction as well that would be very helpful.

Hi.

I expect the motor to run by applying power to just the red and black wire on the connector without connecting the encoder wires. Could you try connecting your battery directly to the motor power wires?

Our library for the G2 high-power motor drivers does not have any provisions in it for encoders. What do you mean by the encoders “receiving/sending info”? Could you post pictures that show how you have everything connected?

-Claire

It does run with the battery connected directly to it.

How would I run that motor (which has an encoder) using that driver if it doesn’t have provisions?

What do you mean by the encoders “receiving/sending info”?

• I should have been more clear; do the encoder pins need to be pulled high/low or communicating with the board in order for the motor to run or can it run without them? Since it runs off just the battery the answer to my question seems to be, yes :slight_smile:

Here are the connections.

Thanks for posting the pictures. The connections between the motor and your shield and Arduino Mega look fine. It looks like the header for the ARDVIN jumper is not soldered in. How are you powering the Arduino?

-Claire