QTR-8RC Implementation with Rabbit BL4S210 board

Hoping I can get some pointers from the more experienced members or admins. I have a 3Pi and have played with it a fair amount and am now working on my own line following variant but I think I am implementing my QTR-8RC sensors in an extremely inefficient way.

I have read and scoured the forums, resource documentation, internet and other links as much as possible but I still dont have the understanding I’d like. Please forgive my basic level of knowledge as I’m learning as I progress.

To obtain a sensor value I am using two I/O tied to one sensor. 1 I/O line is the high/low control needed to charge the cap and then it is dropped low at which point the 2nd connected I/O line is an input used for input capture to reference a millisecond timer on the falling edge and again on the rising edge and then taking the difference to calculate the duration.

When I studied the 3Pi simplified schematic I see each sensor is hooked up to only 1 I/O line. Is there a more efficient use of I/O to acquire the readings I need? How is it performed with the 3pi? Is it possible to use the same line to drive it high and then perform the input capture or other method of duration calculation?

Also I noticed the 3Pi schematic has the sensor lines connected to ADCx pinouts, so am I correct in assuming the 3Pi uses the analog sensors?

Hello.

I don’t think your dual-I/O approach will work because as soon as you switch your output line from high to low you are draining the QTR-RC capacitor through the I/O line instead of the phototransistor. Essentially, your input line will just read the value of your output line. You talk about “studying the 3pi schematic” and it seems like you’re surprised that only one I/O line is used per sensor, but this is exactly how the product page instructs you on how to use the sensor (and this is exactly how the 3pi reads the sensors):