Powering the Pulolu Stepper motor with the Easydriver

hello all!

I should begin by mentioning I am a complete newbie when it comes to electronics. Extremely ignorant, so please pardon my stupid questions - I’m trying to learn as much as I can!
The plan was to figure out how to make my own electronic remote follow focus system for filmmaking with DSLR video cameras. After a few days of reading, I decided to purchase the Arduino Uno, Easydriver v4.4, Pololu 12v power supply, and the Pololu 4v 1200mA Stepper Motor https://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1200.

I wired it up exactly like a schematic I found online http://danthompsonsblog.blogspot.com/2010/05/easydriver-42-tutorial.html but ran into trouble figuring out how to power my specific stepper motor. I assumed a 12v power supply would be sufficient to power the 4v motor but things got a little confusing understanding the mA ratings per coil, etc. Also, the color coded wiring was different than the example in the tutorial. The Pololu stepper motor page shows which wires to isolate for bipolar drivers but I’m lost as to which pairs connect to the A, B coil outputs on the easydriver. I fired up the aurduino and easydriver, code from the tutorial ran fine, but motor didn’t move at all. I tried switching coil pairs but no difference… only small noises coming from the motor.

I’m sure I’m missing something obvious here… if someone might be able to help out a newbie I’d really appreciate it!

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Stepper Motor skecth for use with the EasyDriver v4.2 //
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Dan Thompson 2010
//
// Use this code at your own risk.
//
// For all the product details visit http://www.schmalzhaus.com/EasyDriver/
// For the full tutorial visit http://danthompsonsblog.blogspot.com/

////// ED_v4  Step Mode Chart //////
//                                //
//   MS1 MS2 Resolution           //