Power Raspberry Pi with 7.4v battery through Maestro

I want to power the Raspberry directly from the Maestro 18pin servo controller board, since that only one battery is needed. However, the servos operate at 7.4 volts (so the battery is 7.4 volts as well) but the Raspberry Pi operates at 5v (f I’m not wrong). I don’t want to break anything so I was wondering what is the best way to power the Pi board form the Maestro controller board.
I’m new to electronics, so a detailed answer would be much appreciated!

Hello.

The Mini Maestro has a 5V regulated output, but it can only supply about 50mA which is not sufficient for powering a Raspberry Pi. A better approach would probably be to power your Raspberry Pi from your battery using an appropriate step-down regulator, like perhaps our D36V28F5.

- Patrick

Hi, thanks very much.
There a few other things I want to be sure about:
-Is the maestro board connected to the servo power supply? (In this case 7.4 volt) or is it separate? I saw that it was possible to power the board by adding a wire between VIN and the servo power supply pin. So I assume that the board is separate and can accept higher voltages?
-If I choose to connect my 7.4 volt power supply to the VIN as well to power the maestro, do I still need to have the GND plugged or is it not necessary?
-I only need to send signals to the servos from the raspberry pi, so I’ll connect the RX to TX. Do I still need to ground the maestro board if it uses the battery as it’s power supply?
Thank you!

Oh and also, would it be easier if I power the maestro board directly from the raspberry pi?
In that case I would have the servos run on a 7.4v battery while I’ll have the VIN connected to the raspberry pi 5v out, RX connected to TX, and both GND connected. Would that work or could that damage the raspberry Pi? It would be something similar to this:

Thanks for the response!