Pot control of servo

Need a bit of help getting a potentiometer to control a servo.
first…i am a complete newbie at this…bear with me.

I followed the diagram in the user manual and I am able to see the slider move in the Maestro Control Center as I rotate the Potentiometer from side to side. (5K pot by the way if that matters)

But how do I connect the actual servo? (Newbie, I know.)

Wires are coming out of the Micro to the Pot via a breadboard.
I rotate knob and slider moves in Control center.
seems to work fine but I am lost on how to connect servo to this.

Thanks for the help.

“the dude”

Hello.

Being casual about if the value of the pot matters is not the attitude you want to have when dealing with electronics. It is often easy to break things, if you are not careful and don’t know what is going on.

Jan has been writing some blog posts that generally introduce servos which might interest to you:

The second post has cables that explains what the different colors on a servo cable mean. You need to connect the right cable to the right pin on the servo controller. You haven’t said what servo controller you are using, but I think I can deduce that you are using one of the Maestro servo controllers though. It would be nice if you were more explicit next time. If you are unsure of your wiring, you can always post some kind of schematic you’ve drawn (MSPaint works pretty well), and we can look it over.

- Ryan

Ryan,
sorry I dont have the level of experience necessary to adequately explain my question. certainly not “causal” about electronics, just a greenhorn. thats why i am asking.
I simply dont see how the servo is connected in the diagram in your manual explaining how to connect a pot for control. Yes I know what the wire colors reference.
And I am using a Micro Maestro as mentioned before.

Hello.