Pololu USB-Serial Adaptor Problem

Hi to all:

Please, Can someone help me with this problem? I have an ATmega16 working as Master (I2C) of 6 Salves for control of temperature. The communication between Master and PC was working with the MAX232 and Serial Port on a Desktop PC. In the last days, I had to change the application to a Notebook PC. As this laptop does not have a serial port, I bought a pololu usb-serial adaptor for a direct communication with the Master without the MAX232.

The problem is that when I connect the pololu module to the PC, this is recognized as COM1 and Red LED is on; but when I turn on all the system (Master and Slaves) the Red LED is turned off and any comunication is possible until I disconnect and connect the usb cable to the PC. Also, when the module USB is working together at the system, I dont know why the USB module stops to work (Red LED is off) even if the Pololu USB-Serial as COM1 is listed in the Device Manager.

I just connect three cables: Pololu Tx -> AVR Rx; Pololu Rx -> AVR Tx; GND -> GND.

Looking for a explanation of this problem, I use the HyperTerminal to check the connectivity and when the Red LED is on there is comunication, and when the Red LED is off, the comunication is lost and the windows notification says that it is impossible to access to COM1. Also I measured the voltage in the AVR Master when the USB-Serial adapter is connected to the laptop and the system (Master and Slaves) is turned off, I found that there is a voltage of 1.95V coming from the Pololu Module.

Does anyone have an idea about this problem? I so sorry if I can’t explain it so good. Thanks.

Hello.

Could you post pictures of your setup, including all of your connections? Also, could you try doing a loopback test? You can do a loopback test by connecting the USB-to-serial adapter’s RX pin to its own TX pin, disconnecting the rest of your system and sending something with a terminal program to see if it gets echoed back.

-Brandon