Pololu Dagu Rover 5 and Raspberry Pi

Hi everyone,

I’m totally new in this and because of that I have just one simple question.

I would like to create a robot which would be controlled using smart phone. I have decided to use following components:

• Dagu Rover 5 Tracked Chassis with Encoders : pololu.com/catalog/product/1551

• Pololu RP5/Rover 5 Expansion Plate RRC07A (Narrow) Solid Black : pololu.com/catalog/product/1531

• Raspberry Pi (to connect smart phone and Dagu Rover platform)

Is this all that I need of the components or is there something else that would be useful to add? Do any know is this my idea using this components possible?

Regards

Hi.

You will need some type of motor controller to control your motors. However, since this is your first time building a robot, you might try starting with something simpler and work your way up to something this ambitious. A good starting point might be our 3pi or Zumo robots.

- Zeeshan

Thanks a lot,

I now have new list of components:
Platform - robotshop.com/dagu-rover-5-4 … assis.html
Expansion slot - pololu.com/catalog/product/1531
Motor controller - robotshop.com/dagu-4-channel … ler-2.html
Raspberry Pi
Additional 5V power for controllers (motor controller and Raspberry Pi)
Is this list of components correct? Is all this components can be connect to each other? Do anyone have some suggestions?

I have one more question:
Is possible to directly connect smartphone to Raspberry Pi via USB for controlling? Which options for directly communication of Raspberry Pi and smartphone (Android) i have? Wifi? Bluetooth?

Regards

It would be difficult to make a USB connection between a smartphone as a controller and the Raspberry Pi, but see these posts Android MaestroSSC USB Project. Wifi is easier.

acamiljko,

I am currently attempting the same type of project as you…