PID Motor control using Baby-O

Hello,

I am quite new at this so I would like some advise on the following. I have a Baby Orangutan B-328 Robot Controller in a micro robotic project and I want to implement a PID motor control using the encoder and motor functions from the Pololu AVR C/C++ Library. for feedback I am using a 60-slot encoder and the Hamamatsu P10210 differential encoder module. For motors I am using the Solarbotics Planetary Gear Pager DC Motor.

Do you ave any examples or even better ready code on how to do that?

Any help will be valuable…

Thx
Akis

Hello,

You could try using the code in the Pololu Wheel Encoders section of the Pololu AVR Library, which should work up to a few kHz. We provide various functions for tracking the counts and an example application, but the PID is going to be up to you to implement.

-Paul

Hello again,

First of all thank you for your answer to my request. Now there are 2 ready made PID implementations that I could use as a guideline and these are:

1. uoxray.uoregon.edu/orangutan/#PID_code (a PD implementation for the ATmega8 controller using GCC)
  2. AVR221: Discrete PID controller on tinyAVR and megaAVR devices (a PID implementation using the IAR compiler)

I am using the GCC (utilizing your library). Which one of these two would you suggest is the most proper one to start working with?

Thank you again,

Akis

Hello,

We actually have a PID example for the 3pi robot that uses the AVR Library and might be a better starting point for you. It is designed for line-following, which is not what you are doing, right? But there is really not much to PID itself if you know how to control your motors and read your sensors, so I think you will be able to modify that code to do what you want. I do not really know what you want to do with PID, so I cannot say much more than that.

-Paul