Orangutan SVP-1284 and Ping)))

I’m trying to get my ping)) sensor to work with my Orangutan SVP-1284. I am a Java developer but all this microcontroller stuff is new to me. I really don’t have much of an idea what I am doing and may be going in the wrong direction entirely

Here is the code I am trying to use:

#include <pololu/orangutan.h>

int main()
    {
        while (1)  // main loop
        {
	   	    clear();

delay_ms(1000);
		    print("Signalling Ping)))");
	   	    set_digital_output(IO_C0, LOW);
		    set_digital_output(IO_C0, HIGH);

set_digital_input(IO_C0, HIGH_IMPEDANCE);

if(is_digital_input_high(IO_C0))     // Take digital reading of PC0.  
            {  
	           clear();
		       print("ping input found");
			   //code to measure length of response pulse will go here once this works
			   delay_ms(500);
            }  
		    else
		    {
               clear();
		       print("input not found");
		       delay_ms(500);
		    }

}
    }

I just end up with “input not found” even though i see the sensor’s LED flashing. Any help would be greatly appreciated

OK, I got it working (kind of) using the following code:

[code] #include <pololu/orangutan.h>

int main()
{

unsigned long x = 0;
    while (1)  // main loop
    {
   	    clear();
		print("distances: ");
	 	print_long(x);
        delay_ms(1000);

int startOfSignalFound = 0;
		int endOfSignalFound = 0;
		while (!startOfSignalFound)
        {
           if(is_digital_input_high(IO_C0))
       	   {  
		      time_reset();
			  startOfSignalFound = 1;
              clear();
	          print("ping input found");

while (!endOfSignalFound) {

if(!is_digital_input_high(IO_C0)) {
			  endOfSignalFound = 1;
			  x = get_ms();
			  }

}

}  
        }

}
}[/code]