Orangutan Project

So, I bought an Orangutan, forgetting that one of the projects I needed it for would need to talk to it over RS232.

So, looking into it further, it looks like the built in UART ports are brought out to headers. So, I could build an adapter cable that connects ground, send and recieve to a DB 9 connector. Is this the case, or do I need to do some signal conditioning here… the RS232 port on my USB-to-serial cable signals + and - 5V, so I guess that’s sorta TTL compatible-- I need to invert the signal? Can I use the serial interface on the 8 port servo controller schematic as a guide?

Also, is it difficult to write code to support RS232 communication? (I’m an experienced programmer, but a newbie to modern electronics and embedded controllers.) I’m assuming its a matter of writing some C code that loads data into the UARTS registers, and polls or responds to an iterrupt when data comes in.

The other things I need to do with it are make an I2C interface, and drive some motor controllers by simulating an RC reciever.

Also, I’m sure you’re busy working on the documentation, but some brief early stuff could – for instance, a copy of, and instructions for loading-- the test program that comes with it. At least this way I can get the board back to a known good state.

My plans are to load the AVRX OS on it, and a bootloader for last minute code changes… but I’m not sure that the two are compatible yet. LOL.

Also, later this year, I’ll find out how well the LCD display survives in an antweight combat robot.

Hello,

-5 V is definitely not TTL-compatible, so don’t connect it to your I/O lines! Microcontroller I/O lines are typically not designed to handle voltages above or below the power rails.