Orangutan-lib buzzer timing off?

Newbie here again, this time trying out the buzzer-test program in orangutan-lib-0.3.

If I read the code and comments correctly, it should play a series of three notes, for one second each, and then repeat. But in fact, it’s not doing that for me. In ten seconds, it plays twenty notes or so.

This was true both for the default buzzer-test.hex, and for the one I built myself. Is there something wrong with my clock speed, or what?

Thanks,
- Joe

BTW, I did find device.h, and confirmed that it’s set for Orangutan, which is what I have. So, that’d be a good guess, but doesn’t appear to be the problem.

(Incidentally, it’s a bummer that the Orangutan is only 8MHz while its baby brother is 20MHz – what’s up with that?)

Best,
- Joe

Hey, glad you’re running through the code and catching all the bugs!

Lemme hook up my Orangutan and give the buzzer code a whirl.

While I’m doing that, on the whole 8MHz vs. 20MHz thing, one uses the internal RC oscillator (the Orangutan) while the other uses an external crystal (Baby-O). You CAN make an Orangutan use an external crystal, but it’ll eat up two I/O pins.

This is actually a pretty cool feature, to have the crystal pins available to play with and nothing soldered into them. You can use the internal RC oscillator and plug in a watch crystal, which is a very precise 32.768kHz oscillator, and do all sorts of fun realtime clock stuff. Or you can plug in the crystal of your choice and get a custom clocking rate. I wound up using the latter to fix an Orangutan that had funky fuse settings. It worked like a charm.

Okey doke, back from testing. You’re right. I get 23 tones per 10 seconds (hand-held stopwatch, so I can’t say how accurate that estimate is.) Let me set up some more tests to do tonight, and I’ll post a fix.

Tom

Got it. The math was dead-on, but the order of operations caused an overflow on long durations. In buzzer.c, inside buzzer(), change the “loops =” line to read: