Newbie question simple motor setup

Hello, I’m 100% a newbie so this is going to sound like a stupid question. All I’m wanting to do is use two small motors (probably two 380:1 Micro Metal Gearmotor HPCB 12V) to spin at a constant speed (say, 80 RPM) but in opposite directions (one clockwise, one counterclockwise). No speed adjustment needed. So, as a total newbie, I gather that I need two motor drivers (a dual one won’t work because the two motors will be physically separated in such a way that I can’t wire from one driver to two motors. The site suggests this driver for the motors I’m looking at: MAX14870 Single Brushed DC Motor Driver Carrier. Do I also need a micro controller? Please pardon my ignorance.

Hello.

I responded to your email, but I missed that you also posted this same question here on the forum. In the future, please let us know if you contact us in multiple ways. Also, in cases like this where people contact us in multiple ways, we generally prefer to continue the discussion on the forum so the content can also serve as a resource for others. Accordingly, I am copying my reply below. Please continue the discussion here on the forum.

In general, these kinds of motors have speeds that can vary by as much as +/-10%. If that level of variance is okay for your application, then you probably do not even need a motor driver if you just plan to directly connect the motors to your battery through a switch. Note that as your battery drains and its voltage drops, the speed of the motors will also drop. To prevent that drop in speed, you could do something like add this voltage regulator in between the battery and each motor.