Need to increase torque and reduce speed on my gear motor

Novice here. I am using a microcontroller running an Arduino sketch to power this gear motor (Pololu - 1000:1 Micro Metal Gearmotor HPCB 6V) connected to this motor driver (Pololu - DRV8838 Single Brushed DC Motor Driver Carrier)

I need to slow down the motor for my project but keep the torque the same or higher. When I tried to do so by adding a line of code in the sketch that varies speed from 0 - 255, ie int motorSpeed=128; the motor slows down but so does the voltage.

Can I add a code in the sketch to slow it down in anyway without lowering the voltage?

Could you post more details about your application and explain what you are trying to do?

Speed and torque are proportional to the input voltage. You cannot adjust one separately from the other just by adjusting the voltage. To get a slower speed with more torque, you could gear the output down even further. However, please note that the recommended upper limit for instantaneous torque on the output shaft of the gearbox is 2.5 kg-cm and we strongly recommend keeping applied loads well under this limit.

Brandon

So in my application I am using the gear motor to move a 1cm lever attached to the shaft of the gear motor. The lever pushes a load and then returns to home position. Unfortunately I do not have the space to gear down the output.

Besides gearing down the output, is there any other way to decrease the speed while keeping the voltage constant or higher?

If running it at your full operating voltage is too fast, then you should be able to reduce the duty cycle to slow it down. At some point, if the duty cycle is not high enough to overcome the load on the motor, it will not be practical to control the motor at that low of a speed. For example, you might not be able to reliably run the motor at a steady speed all the way down to 0 RPM.