My Shutdown Circuit

Hi,

I have thought about a way to turn off an AVR and the entire circuit it is in. Finally, I came up with the test circuit attached.

Basically an n-channel (!) mosfet (sorry, I don’t have the appropriate symbol) is used to open the circuit when it shall be turned off. The gate is pulled down i.o.t. insure the circuit stays in off condition until the button is pressed, which switches on the AVR. Then the pin connected to the gate is made high active to keep the mosfet open. So when the button is released, the circuit is on until the gate-pin is made low active.
Note: I have one capacitor between each of the voltage regulator’s pins. These are not depicted however.

I tested it and it seems like it works fine. Since I am not an electrical engineer or well experienced I was hoping I could get some feedback on this circuit. Are there cases where I may have problems with it? Any improvements or things I have forgotten? Any better circuits?

Thanks, appreciate it!
-Robert

Hello,

That circuit might work for your application, but I do see a couple of potential issues. One is that in the off state, there is still a possible current path from 20V through the regulator and the AVR to ground. This might not actually conduct any current with the parts you are using now, but with another regulator or a different voltage source, it might not work. Instead, it would be safer to make the ground pin on the AVR connect to the same node as the ground pin of the regulator, so that the FET can disconnect the entire circuit. The other thing I’m worried about is that the pushbutton is required to conduct all of the current used by the circuit before the FET switches on, which could easily be more than 100mA if you have a few things connected to the 3.3V line. You could possibly fix that by having the switch control the gate of the FET instead of the ground line, but you’ll have to be careful not to put a voltage above 3.3V on the AVR pin.